CBM 1999 Toulouse 2001 Brescia 2003 Rennes 2005 Riga 2007 Bordeaux 2008 London 2009 Chania 2010 Grenoble Madrid

9th International Workshop on Content-Based Multimedia Indexing 13-15 June 2011, Madrid, Spain

http://www-vpu.eps.uam.es/cbmi2011

Call for Demos

Organizing Committee General Chair

José M. Martínez

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain

Technical Program Chairs

Jesús Bescós

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain

Guillaume Gravier

IRISA, France

Joemon Jose

University of Glasgow, United Kingdom

Paulo Villegas

Telefónica I+D, Spain

Special Sessions Chairs

Pablo Castells

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain

Yiannis Kompatsiaris

Informatics and Telematics Institute, Greece

Demos Chairs

Philippe Joly IRIT, France

Víctor Valdés

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain

Publication Chairs

Iván Cantador

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain

David Vallet

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain

Steering Committee

Régine André-Obrecht, IRIT, France Jenny Benois-Pineau, LABRI, France Chabane Djeraba, LIFL, France Moncef Gabbouj, U. Tampere, Finland Patrick Gros, INRIA, France Ebroul Izquierdo, QMUL, UK Philippe Joly, IRIT, France Riccardo Leonardi, U. Brescia, Italy Bernard Merialdo, EURECOM, France Georges Quénot, LIG, France Thomas Sikora, TUB, Germany

Local Organizing Committee

VPULab and IRG at UAM

Following the eight successful previous events of CBMI (Toulouse 1999, Brescia 2001, Rennes 2003, Riga 2005, Bordeaux 2007, London 2008, Chania 2009 and Grenoble 2010), the Video Processing and Understanding Lab (VPULab) and the Information Retrieval Group (IRG) at Universidad Autónoma de Madrid will organize the next CBMI event.

CBMI 2011 aims at bringing together the various communities involved in the different aspects of content-based multimedia indexing, retrieval, browsing and presentation. The scientific program of CBMI 2011 will include invited keynote talks and regular and special sessions with contributed research papers.

Demos

CBMI 2011 is seeking original, beyond state of the art proposals for Demos to be included in one Demos Session within the technical program. The demos may be of content-based multimedia indexing systems, as well as of other systems related to the topics of the workshop.

The demo proposals should include a cover letter describing shortly the problem solved by the system to be demonstrated, the user community addressed, the system requirements for setting up the demo and a walk-through of the demo presentation, together with a short paper (maximum 4 pages using the templates provided on the CBMI2011 site) describing the system. Upon acceptance the short paper will be included in the conference and proceedings, if the comments from the reviewers are appropriately addressed. We also welcome URLs to any video/flash presentation of the demo to be included in the demo proposal.

The proposals will be evaluated based on their quality, timeliness, relevance to CBMI, potential to open new perspectives and/or bring together confluent areas, and further develop the field; as well as the viability of the demo at CBMI2011 venue (applicants should clearly state in the proposal the requirements for the demo and what may be needed from the local organizing committee).

All accepted and registered papers will be published in the workshop proceedings which will be indexed and distributed by the IEEExplore.

Demos Proposal Submission

Demo proposals (cover letter and paper) should be submitted to cbmi2011@irit.fr by February 1, 2011, under the form of extended abstracts of maximum 4 pages using IEEE conference format. Style files (Latex and Word) will be provided for the convenience of the authors.

The final demo paper will be published in the conference proceedings and on a CD-ROM distributed to the participants of the CBMI workshop. The page limit for the final demo paper will be 4 pages. It will also be possible to submit videos or other material related to the demo to be included on this CD-ROM.

Important Dates

Submission of Demos proposals: February 1, 2011 Notification of acceptance: February 25, 2011 Submission of camera-ready papers: March 11, 2011



Program Committee

Régine André-Obrecht, Yannis Avrithis, Jenny Benois-Pineau, Marco Bertini, Jesús Bescós, Alberto Del Bimbo, Iván Cantandor, Pablo Castells, Delphine Charlet, Fernando Díaz de María, Chabane Djeraba, Nastaran Fatemi, Arthur Flexer, Moncef Gabbouj, Emilia Gómez, Guillaume Gravier, Patrick Gros, Allan Hanbury, Alex Hauptmann, Frank Hopfgartner, Xian-Sheng Hua, Benoit Huet, Mark Huiskes, Ebroul Izquierdo, Alejandro Jaimes, Mark Hasegawa Johnson, Philippe Joly, Joemon Jose, Yiannis Kompatsiaris, Martha Larson, Riccardo Leonardi, Joao Magalhaes, Raghavan Manmatha, Stephane Marchand-Maillet, Ferrán Marqués, José M. Martínez, Bernard Merialdo, Vasileios Mezaris, Francisco Morán, Phivos Mylonas, Chong-Wah Ngo, Noel E. O'Connor, Roeland Ordelman, Ioannis Patras, Fernando Pereira, Marius Preda, Georges Quénot, Reede Ren, Shin'ichi Satoh, Nicu Sebe, Thomas Sikora, Alan Smeaton, Cees Snoek, Steffen Staab, Víctor Valdés, David Vallet, Paulo Villegas, Changsheng Xu.







