CBM 1999 Toulouse 2001 Brescia 2003 Rennes 2005 Riga 2007 Bordeaux 2008 London 2009 Chania 2010 Grenoble Madrid

9th International Workshop on Content-Based Multimedia Indexing 13-15 June 2011, Madrid, Spain

http://www-vpu.eps.uam.es/cbmi2011

Call for Special Sessions

Organizing Committee General Chair

José M. Martínez

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain

Technical Program Chairs

Jesús Bescós

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain

Guillaume Gravier

IRISA, France

Joemon Jose

University of Glasgow, United Kingdom

Paulo Villegas

Telefónica I+D, Spain

Special Sessions Chairs

Pablo Castells

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain

Yiannis Kompatsiaris

Informatics and Telematics Institute, Greece

Demos Chairs

Philippe Joly

IRIT, France

Víctor Valdés

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain

Publication Chairs

Iván Cantador

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain

David Vallet

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain

Steering Committee

Régine André-Obrecht, IRIT, France Jenny Benois-Pineau, LABRI, France Chabane Djeraba, LIFL, France Moncef Gabbouj, U. Tampere, Finland Patrick Gros, INRIA, France Ebroul Izquierdo, QMUL, UK Philippe Joly, IRIT, France Riccardo Leonardi, U. Brescia, Italy Bernard Merialdo, EURECOM, France Georges Quénot, LIG, France Thomas Sikora, TUB, Germany

Local Organizing Committee

VPULab and IRG at UAM (to be detailed)

Following the eight successful previous events of CBMI (Toulouse 1999, Brescia 2001, Rennes 2003, Riga 2005, Bordeaux 2007, London 2008, Chania 2009 and Grenoble 2010), the Video Processing and Understanding Lab (VPULab) and the Information Retrieval Group (IRG) at Universidad Autónoma de Madrid will organize the next CBMI event.

CBMI 2011 aims at bringing together the various communities involved in the different aspects of content-based multimedia indexing, retrieval, browsing and presentation. The scientific program of CBMI 2011 will include invited keynote talks and regular and special sessions with contributed research papers.

Special Sessions

CBMI 2011 is seeking original, high quality proposals for Special Sessions, to be included in the technical program along with the regular track. Special Sessions are expected to address research in focused, emerging, or interdisciplinary areas of particular interest, not covered already by traditional CBMI sessions.

The proposals for Special Sessions should include the following information:

- Title of the Special Session.
- o Motivation of the proposed session, stating its relevance for CBMI.
- Description of the session scope and main topics to be covered.
- List of expected papers if already known.
- Short bio and contact information of the organizers.

The proposals will be evaluated based on their quality, timeliness, relevance to CBMI, potential to open new perspectives and/or bring together confluent areas, and further develop the field; as well as the qualifications of the organizers.

Each Special Session will include a selection of five papers. The organizers will take care of attracting submissions, and will chair the session itself at the venue. Submissions to the Special Sessions should adhere to the same style as the regular papers, and shall follow the same timeline and review process. The Special Session Chairs will collaborate with the organizers in the assignment of reviewers to the submitted papers, the quality of which shall meet the same standards as regular papers. If fewer than the needed number of papers are selected, the Special Session will be cancelled, and the accepted papers will be scheduled in regular sessions.

Special Sessions Proposal Submission

Proposals should be emailed in pdf to the Special Session Chairs, Yiannis Kompatsiaris <ikom@iti.gr> and Pablo Castells <pablo.castells@uam.es>, indicating "[cbmi2011] Special Session Submission" in the subject.

Important Dates

Special Session proposals submission: October 30, 2010
Notification of acceptance: November 15, 2010
Paper submission deadline: January 14, 2011
Notification of acceptance: February 25, 2011
Submission of camera-ready papers: March 11, 2011

Program Committee

Régine André-Obrecht, Yannis Avrithis, Jenny Benois-Pineau, Marco Bertini, Jesús Bescós, Alberto Del Bimbo, Iván Cantandor, Pablo Castells, Delphine Charlet, Fernando Díaz de María, Chabane Djeraba, Nastaran Fatemi, Arthur Flexer, Moncef Gabbouj, Emilia Gómez, Guillaume Gravier, Patrick Gros, Allan Hanbury, Alex Hauptmann, Frank Hopfgartner, Xian-Sheng Hua, Benoit Huet, Mark Huiskes, Ebroul Izquierdo, Alejandro Jaimes, Mark Hasegawa Johnson, Philippe Joly, Joemon Jose, Yiannis Kompatsiaris, Martha Larson, Riccardo Leonardi, Joao Magalhaes, Raghavan Manmatha, Stephane Marchand-Maillet, Ferrán Marqués, José M. Martínez, Bernard Merialdo, Vasileios Mezaris, Francisco Morán, Phivos Mylonas, Chong-Wah Ngo, Noel E. O'Connor, Roeland Ordelman, Ioannis Patras, Fernando Pereira, Marius Preda, Georges Quénot, Reede Ren, Shin'ichi Satoh, Nicu Sebe, Thomas Sikora, Alan Smeaton, Cees Snoek, Steffen Staab, Víctor Valdés, David Vallet, Paulo Villegas, Changsheng Xu.







